Open Heart Surgery

I lay here, chest cracked wide open

Heart bared and vulnerable

Trying not to panic from the fear

I’ve been here before

I still bear the scars from

The rough handling that nearly broke me

It’s taken years for me to be brave

Brave enough to be

Willing to crack me wide open

Once again.

My heart, an offering of sacrifice

Awaiting your choice

Can you love this scarred and battered heart

It is all I have to offer you

I raise my eyes to yours

The breath I’ve been holding

Releases at the love I find

Reflected back at me

As you offer your own

Scarred and battered heart

Into my care

 

 

Leave a Reply

