Because life is Brutiful

I occasionally have people ask me after they have heard parts of my life story, “How are you still smiling?”  I usually just shrug it off, not because I don’t have an answer, but because it takes longer than most people would want to go into in a conversation. If I were to answer, I would say, I’m still smiling because life is brutiful.  Yes. Life is brutal. It can knock you down on your ass and try to keep you there.  It can feel like one long horrific joke. Had I known from childhood where my life would take me, I’m not sure I would have had the strength to keep going.  But .

But life is also beautiful.  So incredibly beautiful.  I still smile because:sunsets, starlight, rainbows, the smell of a newborn baby’s head. The sound water makes dancing over rocks and the lullaby of wind in the trees. Laughing until you cry with friends who love you. A good book. The sound of my children’s breathing when they are snuggled up next to me. Music that fills your soul and makes your body dance to its rhythm.  The first flakes of snow in the winter.  Pets. Food that nourishes body and soul.  Long walks. Crazy, wild, passionate love that takes you by surprise. Soul mates found in friendship. Wildflowers. Rain showers.  The joy that comes from spreading kindness in unexpected ways.  There’s so much beauty on this crazy earth if you take a little time to look for  it.

It’s what has kept me from becoming bitter and cynical from a life that could have very well molded me that way.  I fight to keep the beauty  with every ounce of my being.  Because life is brutiful and it is absolutely worth it.

Leave a Reply

