Chicken little living

Windows rattled last night, as thunderstorms rolled through. And my little guy, eyes wide with fear jumped in to my bed and shivered. “It sounds like the WHOLE sky is falling down!”, he said. I held him close and reassured him that it’s all a bunch of noise. Which caused me to start thinking about chicken little. Yes, at 2a.m. And how sometimes I feel like I live in a chicken little world with everyone yelling that the sky is falling. Creating a noisy atmosphere of fear. How if I let the noise overtake the still small voice that says “Be not afraid, I am with you. You are not doing this thing called life, alone”, joy, hope and peace are sucked out of my life and I become a neurotic mess. I start sucking away others joy, peace, and hope by passing on fear. Fear of government, of germs, of toxins, of doing it all wrong, of messing up my kids. This information age that we live in? It feeds the fear creating a monster that is sucking up the hope we are all so desperate for. Sometimes the info is based on solid truth, sometimes on solid lies, often a mix of the two. But I don’t think it’s doing anyone any good to dwell on it so much. I know it’s not healthy for me. So all those posts that are fear mongering, I am going to just scroll on by. I’ve never liked that approach to try to convince people to believe you anyway. If you don’t believe this, if you don’t do this, if you don’t post this, well, the bad is coming and it’s gonna getcha. Nope, I am going to choose love. If we all just chose love instead of fear, what a different world we would live in. I’m going to choose to think on those things that build truth within me.

 

Philippians 4:8-9  Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is fair, whatever is pure, whatever is acceptable, whatever is commendable, if there is anything of excellence and if there is anything praiseworthy—keep thinking about these things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me–put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

 

Leave a Reply

