Tyranny of the Urgent

As I hold my 2year old son in my lap, reading We’re Going on a Bear Hunt for the fourth time in a row, I lean in and breathe deeply. I smell the scent of little boy. Sweat and earth mixed with the smell of wide open spaces. I savor it and close my eyes and marvel at those who wonder why I want to “waste” my time being home when I could be out working and be fulfilled. I have been a Mom for almost 14 years and now more than any other time, realize just how quickly children grow and change. I have years and years left of life to pursue a career. But he’ll only be 2 years and 11 months and 9 days old, today. And I don’t want to miss a minute of it. This is not a slam against work outside of the home mothers, it really isn’t. Working while my kids are young is just not built into my biology, I don’t think. I truly feel it would mar my soul to be separated from my little ones for hours a day. We may not be well off financially and have what some people do. But I have a sense of peace knowing that I can be here to kiss the boo boos and share in the joys of the moment. Some things, I feel are worth just about any sacrifice. For me, this is definately one of those things. Whether you work at home or out, I am urging you today,  to take time out of your busyness and just be present in the lives of  your children. Really watch. Really listen. Let go of your to-do lists for an hour and just enjoy the incredible gifts that we are given in our children. Pour out your unconditional, I love and delight in every part of you, Love deep down into their little souls.  We as an american society struggle greatly with the tyranny of the urgent. The things that are really important to us get put on the back burner as we try desperately to do and to have it all.  Studies show that the children of America are not thriving in this enviroment. They have and do more than previous generations and yet they are some of the most stressed out and depressed. Something is definately not right about that. They need us present in their lives just as much as we need to be pulled out of the craziness to be reminded of what is truly important.  In closing one of my favorite poems…..

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

– Ruth Hulbert Hamilton

One thought on “Tyranny of the Urgent

Leave a Reply

